Sharing your point of view with the World

Welcome to the Riddermark……

I wasn’t sure if I was even going to comment on this but I have decided to put my opinion out there. Recently Turbine has released information about the upcoming expansion for The Lord of The Rings Online named The Riders of Rohan. Current pricing for Rohan pre-orders are $39.99 for the base, $49.99 for heroic, and $69.99 for the legendary which is a $10-$20 increase from just last years Rise of Isengard. My first thought was finally I mean we have been screaming for Rohan since we got out of Lothlorien. And looking at the prices I think Warner Brothers knows it (I am giving Turbine the benefit of the doubt not sure if it is deserved or not).

I know that everyone has done break downs of how many store points you save by buying edition X. But I choose to look at it like there is no store main reason being it is not really a fair comparison being that there are 3 tiers of users in LOTRO. One of course being the free players which purchasing and expansion changes for you instantly so breaking it down in that aspect is kind of false being that you are now premium. The premium players do have a little more invested in store prices being that if they do want anything they have to earn TP or shell out some real life coin. Then there are the subscribers which includes the lifetime account holders that get 500 TP a month allowance that really seem like a ploy to get you to spend even more money than you already do. Knowing how people in general can’t wait to get what they think they need which I believe is where a lot of the price points come from. I mean in general is the normal person going to wait 2 months to get their allowance to get that quest pack or mount they want? I know there are a lot of people who do but there is a greater number that shells out the money to get it now.

So putting all of the TP math aside lets look at this from a strictly monetary point of view. What did we get with Moria?

Mines of Moria™ FAQ

Among numerous new features, Mines of Moria allows you to:

Live the Legend: Explore the dark heart of the Misty Mountains and experience the untold evils of Khazad-dûm.

Continue the Epic Story: Explore 3 new regions including 22 expansive areas as you aid the Fellowship in their quest to destroy The One Ring.

Wield Power: Design and create legendary items as famous as Bilbo’s Sting. Your hero’s gear will evolve and grow in power along with you.

Achieve Greatness: Advance your hero to level 60. Play the new Rune-keeper or Warden classes and battle nearly 1,000 new monsters.

a $40 price point for the complete version which included

The Lord of the Rings Online: Shadows of Angmar™

All content updates (Books 9-14)

The Mines of Moria expansion

An entry into the $25,000 The Treasures of Moria Instant Win and Sweepstakes

30 days of free game time

2 in-game item tokens

and $80 for the collectors version

The Lord of the Rings Online: Shadows of Angmar

All content updates (Books 9-14)

The Mines of Moria expansion

Premium cloth map

Gold-plated replica of The One Ring

Exclusive art & music compilation

3 in-game item tokens

A special Collector’s Badge to uniquely identify you on the LOTRO community forums

30 days of free game time

An entry into The Treasures of Moria Instant Win and Sweepstakes* with prizes valued at $25,000!

keeping in mind that these are a boxed edition the digital download was $30.

Did we get screwed with Mirkwood? Yea we did, but I was marking that one up to a learning experience on Turbine’s part.

…The Lord of the Rings Online: Siege of Mirkwood will be available as a digital download for $19.99 or as a bundle with the LOTRO Adventurer’s Pack plus a new mount for $39.99 on December 1, 2009. For more information or to download a free trial.

options also available to subscribers

The LOTRO Lifetime Membership is now available for $199.

Any current or former player who renews or upgrades their subscription to any multi-month plan by October 31st gets the Siege of Mirkwood digital expansion for FREE!

All players can pre-order the new LOTRO Adventurer’s Pack which contains 2 character slots and one shared storage slot that allows players to share items with all of their characters on the same server for $19.99 and get the Harbinger’s Cloak which provides 8% speed boost and the Dusky Nimblefoot Goat mount for FREE!

Starting today, existing Lifetime Members who pre-order the LOTRO Adventurer’s Pack get the Siege of Mirkwood digital expansion plus two in-game items (Harbinger’s Cloak which provides an 8% speed boost and a new mount) for FREE!

Isengard in fact was less for the money than Moria as I see it more of a quest pack than much else.

Explore Three New Regions! — The time has come for you to turn eastward, toward the vale of Isengard. Where ancient forests once flourished, a corrupted waste of metal and wheels suffers under the thrall of the traitorous wizard Saruman. Here, in the shadows of the tower of Orthanc, gathers an army of Orcs and Uruk-hai, toiling to make ready for war. Forge ahead into these devastated lands and uncover new quests, skills, and traits as you strive to thwart Saruman’s ambition.

Dunland – Adventure amidst the bright forests in the foothills of the southern Misty Mountains. Beware the Dunland Clans, rugged warriors tempted by the dark promise of power.

Gap of Rohan – Battle over the legendary pass between Eriador and the plane of Rohan. This key strategic point must be defended against the ambitions of Sauron.

Isengard – Explore Orthanc, one of the iconic Two Towers as it rises over the once beautiful Isengard valley. The once beautiful vale now desecrated beyond imagination by the Wizard Saruman the betrayer.

Advance to Level 75!

Face new challenges and continue to forge your own legend in Middle-earth with all-new epic quests, skills, and deeds as you fight new enemies on your journey to level 75!

Master the Legendary New 24-Player Raid!

Face the ancient evil of Draigoch, one of the most powerful creatures in Middle-earth! Prepare for the ultimate challenge where nothing less than the strength of an entire force of 24 heroes stands the chance of victory.

And just from what I see Rohan looks like nothing more than what equates to a large quest pack for the same price. Don’t get me wrong I want to stay in love with LOTRO but the business end of the game makes it very hard to do so. Go ahead and scream at me that we are getting mounted combat and let me reply don’t praise it till you use it (Radiance, initial LI system, skirmishes, PVMP at the start) I mean I am sure it will be functional at some point right.

I am really trying hard not to blame Turbine for this I really hope that the fleecing of Middle-earth is being done by Warner, if it is Turbine to blame that marks a dark day for all Humans, Hobbits, Elves and Dwarves. I know that some will agree and some disagree but I truly believe that LOTRO it trending more to pulling in as much cash as possible before either everyone leaves or they run out of story.

I am sure that some of this “rant” may have something to do with the fact that recently I now make 1/3 the money I used to. Which means that you have to really prove to me what I am buying is worth my money. That being said I still believe we got more for our money with Moria than it looks like we will from Rohan.

I know they are touting that this is the largest area ever in LOTRO and the most quests but with the amount of XP needed to get from 75 to 85 wouldn’t it have to be. With the addition of mounted combat, the Warbands or Dynamic events whichever you would like to call them and the fact that it is Rohan still doesn’t help justify the price at least for the Legendary edition. I really believe at first blush the breakdown should be more like $29.99, $39.99 and $49.99 I may change my mind in the future but for now that’s my story and I’m sticking to it.

All these things aside I do really believe at its base LOTRO is still a very solid enjoyable game. If I get an opportunity to test out Rohan I will revisit this subject and give my final thoughts. Unfortunately lately no matter what game I log into feels more like I am going to work as opposed to having fun. So I could very well just be suffering from some major MMO burnout. That being said this could all change if I get into the beta and get a chance to try it out maybe it will seem more worth it to me. At this point however not having a level 75 character nor being a subscriber right now will probably keep me from buying this “expansion”. As always I am open-minded to change but I am just not feeling this one at least for the moment.

Thanks for reading I know it got a little bit long but I was trying to back up what I was talking about. Just remember this is my opinion you can form your own and if you would like to share yours comment below, email me or hit me up on Twitter @gondorawaits or @Bor_Jason. As always until next time I’ll see you in Middle-earth ~ Bor

Leave a Reply

