Sharing your point of view with the World

A Thought on Role-Playing

Welcome_FullI just wanted to take a few minutes to share my thoughts on RP in LOTRO and other games. I am not much of what has been come to be know as an RPer. Although I do believe that anyone playing a game in a fantasy world where they are able to customize their character are technically role playing I do know that isn’t considered RP. RP is taking the story to a new level by going beyond the just the character creation by creating a back story for their character which they play out as they go through the game. Also they will be seen carrying on conversations in character or doing other group events with other role-players. I can’t imagine the amount of work that people go through to play this mostly because my creativity is maxed out with just the facial features of my characters. I do however want to applaud the people who take the time to play any game that way. I also want to say to anyone that thinks RP is weak or lame to remember whether you want to admit it or not you are role-playing just with less effort and thought put it to it. These are just my thoughts you can choose to agree or disagree and feel free to let me know either way. See you in Middle-earth ~ Bor

Comment below, email me at bor.nimrodel@gmail.com or @gondorawaits on Twitter

2 responses

  1. I guess you’re right when you say “you are role-playing just with less effort and thought put it to it”. This is at least the case in LotrO. After all, you play a character, race and class based upon the books of Tolkien. With that said, perhaps the immersion part (creating a “real” background for your character and a personality) is not easy for everyone and that’s why people think they don’t RP. I’ve started out with one non-RP character in LotrO just to get familiar with the game, to see if I like it the way I like Tolkien’s books and the movies. I DO like the game and that’s when I decided to make a real RP-character, I think for the first time in my “entire” MMO-life (granted, that’s about 2-4 years, so it ain’t much yet😀 )
    I have to admit, I have a vivid imagination. I’m writing stories (for now only for myself) and I’m dabbling in game design too for my own game. So perhaps that’s the reason it’s a bit more easier for me to invent a background for my character. The hardest part, I think, is staying in character. But it’s a fun challenge🙂
    With you I applaud the people who really manage to RP in the game, even with all the non-rp-ers out there.

    August 5, 2011 at 14:27

  2. Well said. I agree with you that all of us are role-playing in some form.

    August 7, 2011 at 01:48

Leave a Reply

