Sharing your point of view with the World

MMO Etiquette and Protocol

imageLately I have been playing a few games at a time and have noticed quite a bit of the normal American “I am the most important person in the world” attitude in the communities. Even in LOTRO which I always felt was one of the most mature and creative communities around has even gone down hill since they introduced the free client model. This isn’t me just voicing a complaint I am just pointing out things I have noticed, nor am I trying to lump all players into this category. Most of the things I have noticed seem to be either a lack of community members speaking up or just a lot of new players that haven’t been told otherwise. Most of these are just little things like blind invites to either groups or guilds which really just drives me nuts at least introduce yourself. Some things are a little more of a social shortcoming like mob or resource jumping. I mean just because you can do it doesn’t mean that you should. For example if there is a quest mob in an area and you don’t need it leave it alone, if you do need it and someone seems to be waiting on it send them a Tell/Whisper to find out maybe even team up and take it down. Like I said these are just a few small things that if people would be more considerate it would allow everyone to enjoy the game that they are playing more. And I want to stress that it doesn’t matter if you are paying to play a game or not you should treat everyone with respect. Just remember that the Golden rule IS “Do unto others as you would want them to do to you” NOT “do unto others before they do unto you”. This is just something I have wanted to get off my chest for a while and now I have. If you have any comments or questions don’t hesitate to ask either below, email me at bor.nimrodel@gmail.com or leave me a message (304) 534-9BOR (9267). Until next time I will see you in Middle-earth. ~ Bor

One response

  1. Oh man, I absolutely hate blind invites unless it’s one of those situations that make it’s obvious we are after the same mob; though I’d still rather there be some communication involved since it really doesn’t take long to say ‘you on this too?’. What’s worse than blind invites is the repeat blind invites. I declined already, what makes you think I’ll accept future (as in a minute or less later) invites? It also bugs me when people follow you and beg to fellow but they will not say what quests they are on and/or they don’t care what you are doing, they just want to tag along for free XP, it seems. Many people don’t seem to understand that a little communication goes a very long way, even in our ever-growing virtualized world.

    April 14, 2011 at 14:37

Leave a Reply

